2000AD Prog 1828 – general release 17/04/13 – spoilers

Prog-18282000AD Prog 1828

Published weekly in the UK by Rebellion

Subscription release  13th April 2013

General release in print & digital 17th April 2013

Cover by Henry Flint

My first Subscription copy for quite some time. I messed up and let it lapse. Bought my copies at WHS for a while then muffed up getting subscription sorted. Ended up ringing Denise and all was fixed in that one simple call.

2000AD & the Megazine, Saturday, early afternoon sat in bed – bliss!

No letters page.

In this Prog

Judge Dredd: Suicide Watch part 3

Script: Gordon Rennie & Emma Beeby
Art: Paul Davidson
Colours: Chris Blythe
Letters: Annie Parkhouse

OK I thought it was Judge Death… look, I don’t claim ‘spolier light’ on this one… if you thought it was Death, haven’t read the Prog and I’ve spoilt it, sorry. But spoilers are tagged…

Great misdirection by the script, classic tactic and it worked. While I worried about Hamida the big bad got his claws in to Dredd. I love the character development of Hamida, hope she makes it through this.

I’m on edge of my seat with this story, great stuff indeed. Plus I had understood from things I read elsewhere that this was a 4 parter. It isn’t!

Dandridge: The Copper Conspiracy part 5

Script: Alec Worley
Art: Warren Pleece
Letters: Ellie de Ville

Flesh Golem Shelley not to the rescue…

Bowled a googly on this one weren’t we. Shelley’s body has been body-jacked, Dandridge’s jacket has been pilfered. Our dandy hero in chains and at the mercy of the villain.

Flash-backs, action and exposition all in 5 pages. A nicely paced episode.

Tharg’s 3rillers: The Ghostship Mathematica part 2

Script: David Baille
Art: Inaki Miranda
Colours: Eva de la Cruz
Letters: Annie Parkhouse

Time has moved on and Marble Jones is a young man. Along with the Captain and his robotic Blacksmith young Marble is crewing the Mathmatica. Computer recorded copies of the previous crew give the ship a full crew compliment. One of that crew however has deceived them…

Intriguing twist. Yet there is a third part yet to come. I’m intrigued, where do we go from here?

Stickleback: Number of The Beast part 5

Script: Ian Eddington
Art: D’Israeli
Letters: Ellie de Ville

Ah, now we get going! Dastardly scheme by loved-up villain. And a nice wee backfiring plot.

Lovely art as usual. I can’t help think this story is written to be read as a whole and not in neat 5 page episodes. The pacing is all over the place, this episode is however much more what we need for an anthology.

Don’t get me wrong, I like this story. I just think the pacing is off most of the time.

Zombo in Planet Zombo Part 4

Script: Al Ewing
Art: Henry Flint
Letters: Simon Bowland

OK. This is also more what I want, now the action is getting started and we have rempote-controlled Zombo on the loose and the lunatic corpse-less head has given his war speech to his massed army.

I think my fellow Squaxx are probably still enjoying this more than I am. I still feel like I am missing something. Maybe I preferred the simplicity of the first story arc, not that this is complicated.

Next Prog

Last part of the current 3riller. Some tasty  action coming in most the strips by the look of it.

Leave a Reply

