2000AD Prog 1838 – general release 26/06/13 – spoilers

2000AD Prog 1838

Published weekly in the UK by Rebellion

Subscription release 22nd June 2013

General release in print & digital 26th June 2013

Cover by John Charles

No letters page.

Tharg bigs up the digital Prog. Get it if you want… I’ve got my paper copies, from Prog 1. So I’m happy. He also bigs up the Meg and the free bagged up mini-graphic – too right! I get TWO paper things in one bag when the Meg arrives, win/win for me! No seriously, I like paper…

Then Tharg brings in the brings in the big guns almost as though it is an after thought. I mentioned it when discussing last Prog’s Future Shock… The 2000AD Portfolio competition will again run at Thoughbubble in Leeds – more details here! Last year’s winner, Will Morris, had his work published in Prog 1836 – he illustrated the Terror Tale that Prog.

In this Prog

Judge Dredd: Wastelands part 2

Script: John Wagner
Art: Dave Taylor
Letters: Annie Parkhouse

I wasn’t very polite about the art last Prog, well I was polite but not for me. As I said last week I only got a D in my Art O Level so I am not the best to talk about consistency. But the art isn’t really working for me, on some levels. Page 6 for example, the top two panels really work for me.

The script. My attention is grabbed.  No idea who the bad guys are… one assumes other interested parties in real estate.

Did you know the kid who played Fat Sam went in to the building trade? Nothing to do with this story, just saying…

Terror Tales: Rattle

Script & Art Montynero
Letters: Sim0n Bowland

Montynero penned and inked, or scribed and scribbled, this story. i used that in my preview of the Prog, thought I could get away with plagiarizing myself. Yes, plagiarizing myself is lazy but look at Montynero – he couldn’t be bothered to letter this story. Good for Simon Bowland I say, picking up the slack for that laggard Montynero, Simon deserves all the credit if you ask me.

Great story, the build up was traditional enough. We know Terror Tales, something is bound to go wrong. Animal Rights Activists terror attack, yeah, we know these things.

But did you miss the smart-snakes clue on page one? Hive mind or communication? I’m not sure, though I’m plumping for hive mind, but they sure outsmarted the lady with all the college education.

Strathclyde though. It gets cold yeah? They won’t live through the winter when it comes… surely?

Enjoyed the story and I didn’t guess the twist, I actually thought maybe the anti-vivisectionists might get it…

Cadet Anderson Psi Division : One in Ten part 6

Script: Alan Grant
Art: Carlos Ezquerra
Letters: Annie Parkhouse

I love Zombini’s attempt at blocking Anderson, great image.

Nice pacing, story moves on nicely this Prog. I don’t think this is an Alan Grant classic but I’m enjoying it.

Panels are perfect. I singled out the blind rad-rats at the beginning but I love the whole thing artistically, pure Carlos.

Defoe: The Damned, part 3

Script: Pat Mills
Art: Leigh Gallagher
Letters: Ellie De Ville

The reeks are trying to storm the Tower of London and Defoe and his team are keeping them out. The numbers are an issue but the tower is all but impregnable. Or is it?

Tomazine is loyal to Defoe, no one can doubt her. But can she be tempted?

The art is magnificent. I considered picking out a few panels. Shan’t, it is too good to do so. Go read it, on paper! Paper… you need natural light for this art, go outside if it is sunny.

Sinister Dexter Witless Protection: In Plain Shite, part 3

Script: Dan Abnett
Art:  John Burns
Letters: Ellie de Ville

Finney is STILL talking to us. I don’t look much like Ray… Loving it.

The first job on the whack list seems to be harmless. OK not for the mark but it is Sinister we are caring for, the hitman. Of course it is actually sinister that we are backing a hired killer… but that’s entertainment!

Easy hit gets complicated with big attack dogs.

The bad guy’s ‘LOL’ steals the last page though…

Next Prog

The Ten Seconders by Rob Williams & Edmund Bagwell.

Leave a Reply

