So now we know Who… The new Doctor announced.

 

So, Peter Capaldi has been named as the actor to portray the 12th Doctor.

I’ve wanted an older Doctor, but I’m only ten years younger than Peter Capaldi, I guess that is better than being almost old enough to be the Doctor’s Dad.

Peter has previous connections with the show. He was Caecilius in The Fires of Pompeii in 2008. Later, in 2009, he appeared in the spin off Torchwood – Children of Earth: Day Five as John Frobisher.

He is probably best known to people as Malcolm Tucker in The Thick of It, though I’ve not watched that series.

We won’t know what kind of Doctor he will be until his first episode, I don’t mean the Christmas Special. Chances are we’ll only get a glimpse at Christmas.

Change is good.

My first Doctor was Jon Pertwee and I recall complaining when he was replaced by Tom Baker. I liked that big Robot but constantly asked when the Doctor would come back. Is it any wonder I am not a fan of spiders?

So I didn’t like Tom Baker at the beginning but I grew to love him. Then came ‘That Vet’, didn’t like him. Grew to like Peter Davison and then along came Colin Baker… pretty sure you can guess that I didn’t like him so I can stop the pattern here.

So change is good. Looking forward to what we get from Peter Capaldi.

Leave a Reply

