Batman ’66 Meets The Green Hornet – issue 1

BM66GH1-Print-Cover-bf092Batman ’66 Meets The Green Hornet
Issue 1 of 6

June 2014

Published by DC Comics & Dynamite

Writers: Kevin Smith & Ralph Garman
Artist: Ty Templeton
Colourist: Tony Aviña
Letterer: Wes Abbott

Batman created by Bob Kane
Green Hornet created by George W. Trendle & Fran Striker

I had missed this. I don’t pay a huge anount of attention to DC’s out put till it is on the shelf, apparently same for Dynamite.

The cover caught my eye, the colours on my copy are not quite as bright as the image above and frankly I prefer my copy. This is why I still prefer paper, the result on paper is often superior. Seriously if you don’t beleive me compare your screen to a copy in a shop.

Anyway the cover grabbed my attention and Kevin Smith’s name sealed the deal. I love the Batman series, I haven’t seen all of Green Hornet, but what I saw I liked. Kevin Smith writing this… I guessed he’d get the job done.I often say that every generation gets the Batman film they deserve. 1966 was Adam West, with the TV series following on. Then Tim Burton’s two Batman films with those other ones that followed. More recently the Christian Bale version. Each generation gets the Batman film it deserves, maybe not the one it wants all the time but it gets what it deserves.

Anyway.

Kevin Smith and Ralph Garman have delivered. This issue feels like an episode of the TV series. The plot, the dialogue, everything. I can hear the actors voices, I’m only missing the music at the moment. So many scenes are pitched so perfectly, Batman knowing everything, Bruce talking about Batman all the classics.

The words aren’t always enough. Ty Templeton’s art also delivers. The storytelling is brilliant and the acting of the characters is spot on, O’Hara’s behaviour in Commissioner Gordon’s office for one.

My only criticism is that there isn’t quite enough BOP, KERPOW, etc going on. But maybe that will increase next issue…

Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

