Star Trek vs Planet of the Apes: The Primate Directive – spoiler light (includes preview pages)

ST PotA 1 CoverStar Trek vs The Planet of the Apes
Issue 1 of 5
Published by Boom! Studios
31st December 2015

Writer: Scott Tipton & David
Artist: Rachael Stott
Colours: Charlie Kirchoff
Letterer: Tom B Long

Cover by Rachael Stott
Colours by Charlie Kirchoff

Genre – Sci-Fi, Film tie-in

Two Sci-Fi greats, what’s not to like?

This series features the original cast of Star Trek and the humans Taylor and Nova from the original Planet of the Apes film series.

There are a plethora of covers, the one I’ve used at the top of this article is by the series British artist Rachael Stott, I understand this is her first professional comic work. You can see the other covers in the preview pages below.

I’ve enjoyed Star Trek and Planet of the Apes all my life. Of the two I’d say Planet of the Apes is my favourite (some of my old Bravo Fleet friends might disown me for saying that).

I loved the original Planet of the Apes films and TV series. The Tim Burton re-make was enjoyable but not as good as the original but the more recent reboot films Rise and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes are marvelous. Soom! also have a tie-in to the new films currently on sale Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is set between the two latest films.

With Star Trek I’ve enjoyed all the TV series apart from Enterprise which I couldn’t get in to. Film wise it was hit and miss with several being very disappointing, I’m very much an odd numbered fan (it is a thing, some of you will know that). I got in to online Star Trek RPG group Bravo Fleet and as I like but am not a huge fan of Star Trek I opted to be a Klingon as there was less to learn. That said I actually ended up learning their culture and being passable with their written language (my pronunciation is poor). That is all years ago now and I am rusty reading Klingon – though I recall enough to be sure that the Klingon in this comic sure looks correct.

You’ll see in the pages below that someone is running arms to the Gorilla General, Marius. That someone is in shadows but if any reader can’t guess his race (bearing in mind the Star Trek in the title and the fact I already mentioned a language…) I’d be amazed.

Meanwhile Sulu and Uhura are dabbling in espionage in Klingon get up (another clue to the race of the chap in shadows).

Most of this issue is obviously introduction to the setting and characters, mostly from a Star Trek angle. It is an introduction that baits the hook nicely and I imagine there will be more meat on the bones next issue.

The artwork is outstanding. The Planet of the Apes building is spot on. The Klingon buildings, Klingon & Federation ships and indeed the characters themselves are also very good, as you can see from Sulu & Uhura below.

edit – you can also read a preview of Issue 2

ST PotA 1 coversST PotA 1 p1ST PotA 1 p2ST PotA 1 p3ST PotA 1 p4ST PotA 1 p5

Leave a Reply

