Thought Bubble Comic Festival – Royal Armouries Leeds – 14th & 15th November 2015

TB15Thought Bubble Comic Convention
Royal Armouries Leeds

14th & 15th November 2015.

Full details on the Thought Bubble Website

This is one of the major dates for many Comics fans. There are bigger conventions but most cater more for Film & TV fans. This is one of the biggest Comic Conventions in the UK.

I have written a Reviews Booklet highlighting some of the talented people that have entertained me since the last Thought Bubble. There are notes regarding where to find many of the creators I have mentioned. You can Download the Pdf here REVIEWS 2015.

Printer willing I will also have printed copies to hand out on the day. If you do download the Pdf please  do feel free to print copies if you want.

There are a number of key things that I intend to do at Thought Bubble. For one thing if I’ve successfully obtained printed copies I will take two round with me and ask as many of the Creators as possible to autograph my review of them. One I will keep, the other I hope to auction for charity on Ebay – Leeds Mind will be the recipients of any money I raise with that.

The first table I am visiting on Saturday will be the Planet Replicas table. They are in the Pdf.

There are also a few Panels I’ve already decided I am attending – chief among those is the 2000AD Portfolio Competition, where the winner receives a paid commission with 2000AD. A few months ago a Script was released for Artists to work from. On Saturday the finished pages need to be shown to the Editor of 2000AD. On Sunday a select few will show their work to a panel of 2000AD Artists (and perhaps Writers). The winner is decided by the panel.

This year there is also a 2000AD Story Pitch competition with a similar prize for a Writer. I’ll attend and I may enter, I’m just not certain yet what idea to use. In this competition each entrant has two minutes to pitch their idea and face questions regarding it. Again a panel of 2000AD professionals will decide on a winner.

Another panel I usually try to get in to is the Sketching Spotlight where Pete Doherty interviews other Artists while they sketch. The finished sketches are auctioned on Ebay after the Event with proceeds going to Barnardos. There are two of these, one each day, sadly the Sunday one clashes with the 2000AD Portfolio Competition.

A big part of this Convention for me is to find new works that I want to review for this site. To make new connections and to reconnect with friends I have made along the way. the social side of the convention is essential and I will probably meet up with some people on the preceding Friday evening as well as Saturday after the event closes.

If you are going and you spot me please do make yourself known. I will be wearing a black t-shirt on both days. One from the first Lawgiver convention, with a 2012 version of a Judge Semple badge. The other from Lawgiver II, with the Guests’ names from that convention in the style of a ‘Tour’ t-shirt.

Leave a Reply

