The Art of Jakub Rozalski – Scythe Boardgame – includes embeded video Wojtek and the Machines by Michał Woźniak

Wojtek 1920I stumbled across the video Wojtek and the Machines a few months ago. I was actually researching the famous Polish bear Wojtek for an article I was writing about Jousting, The video had only been uploaded the day before I was writing that article.

And the reason I hit on the video is this depiction of a fictional Wojtek.

What I saw in the video really impressed me. I’ve watched it a few times and every time I see something I didn’t notice before. The picture of Wojtek above will give you some idea of what to expect.

I’ve also looked at the art of Jakub Rozalski, which is featured in the video with music by Michał Woźniak. Today I watched the video again and decided to find out more – discovering the Boardgame, Scythe,

Scythe is well along the way in design and there will be a Kickstarter campaign from 13th October 2015. I’ll put an article up at the time to remind readers,

As you may guess from the picture above, confirmed by the video below, this is an alternate history with Mechs in a war in Europe. Here is a brief description of the setting from the designers:

“It is a time of unrest in 1920s Europa. The ashes from the first great war still darken the snow. The capitalistic city-state known simply as “The Factory,” which fueled the war with heavily armored mechs, has closed its doors, drawing the attention of several nearby countries.”

I’m not sure I’ll be getting the game but I love the look of the setting. I could easily put a story to the paintings I have looked at.

You can see more of the beautiful art on Jakub Rozalski’s site.

You can find out more about the game on Stonemaier Games’ webite.

Now the video, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a comment